Lagos State Education District V


As part of Government’s efforts to enhance the career of teachers and bring the administration of teachers to the grassroots, the Teaching Service Commission was phased out and six Education Districts were created.

Education District V as one of the Education Districts in the state started operations on 31st August, 2005 with the District Office at Awori Ajeromi Schools’ Complex (Old Ojo Road) in Amuwo Odofin Local Government Area. The District is made up of four zones namely;





The headquarters comprises of five (5) Departments which were established under the new Education Law of Lagos State Government.

They include:

  1. Personnel
  2. Schools Administration
  3. Finance
  4. Inspectorate
  5. Co-curricular Science and Technology

Aside the Statutory Departments created for the District, there are also the Tutor General/Permanent Secretary’s Office and Internal Audit Unit which is headed by a Professional Internal Auditor.

In 2015, the Inspectorate Departments metamorphosed into the Quality Assurance Office with its own Director General reducing the Departments in the District to four (4). They are:

  1. Administration & Human Resource
  2. Schools Administration
  3. Co-curricular Science and Technology
  4. Finance


Vision: To achieve qualitative education that will guarantee learners’ brighter and rewarding future.

Mission: Inspiring educational excellence in Secondary Schools through official service delivery, quality teaching, conducive teaching and learning environment in collaboration with all stakeholders.


Core Values

  1. Hardwork (Regularity and Punctuality)
  2. Discipline
  • Respect and Tolerance for each other and one another
  1. Cordial Relationship with visitors
  2. Team spirit
  3. Accountability and Probity
  4. There were One Hundred and Thirty-Two (132) Schools in the District but the number has risen to One Hundred and Thirty-Nine (139) and distributed as follows:-
    AJEROMI IFELODUN 20 19 20 19
    AMUWO ODOFIN 19 19 20 20
    BADAGRY 13 13 14 14
    OJO 15 14 17 15
    TOTAL 67 65 69 70
    GRAND TOTAL 132 139


    Included in the Schools is the Alternative High School for Girls, a special “Second Chance” school located at Agboju, established to help girls who dropped out of school due to unfortunate reasons to continue and complete their education. The Office of the Special Adviser to the Governor on Education is directly in charge of the Administration of the school. The District provides the Principal, Vice Principal, Teaching and Non-Teaching Staff.


    The population of staff in the District is as tabulated below:


    Tutor General/Permanent Secretary Office – 13

    Administration and Human Resource Department – 31

    Schools Administration Department – 28

    Curriculum Science and Technology Department – 14

    Accounts Department – 12

    TOTAL – 98


    Ajeromi Ifelodun – 776

    Amuwo Odofin – 770

    Badagry – 902

    Ojo – 1066

    GRAND TOTAL – 3,514


    Contact Address:-Awori Ajeromi Schools’ Complex,

    Old Ojo Road, 1st Pako Bus Stop

    Agboju, Amuwo Odofin Local Government Area

    Address: Same as Above

    Phone No: 0909 360 9505

    Location: 1st Pako Bus Stop Agboju, Amuwo Odofin Local Government.